New Jersey's New DWI Law Has Taken Effect.

https://www.njleg.state.nj.us/2018/Bills/S1000/824_R1.PDF

New Jersey’s new Driving While Intoxicated law has taken effect. N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 signed by Governor Murphy places heavy emphasis on the use of ignition interlock devices rather than license suspensions for most first time offenders.

The law requires first time offenders with a blood alcohol limit of 0.08 percent to 0.10 percent to have an interlock device installed in their vehicle for three months. An offender with a BAC above 0.10 percent to 0.15 percent would be required to have a device installed for seven to twelve months.

In terms of license suspensions, even under the new law first-time offenders whose blood-alcohol level was above 0.15 percent would be suspended for four to six months. They would also be subject to a longer installation of an ignition device, a period of nine to 15 months.

The Legislature specifically found that individuals with suspended licenses as a result of operating while intoxicated often operated while suspended and the implementation of the law to require the installation of the ignition interlock device is a more effective tool in the deterring of drunk drivers.

Contact Bidlingmaier & Bidlingmaier for your free consultation if you have been charged with Driving Whie Intoxicated.

Featured Posts
Posts are coming soon
Stay tuned...
Recent Posts