Cliff Bidlingmaier has Client Charged With 2nd Degree Unlawful Possession of a Weapon Admitted in PT
Cliff Bidlingmaier successfully had his client who was a charged with a 2nd Degree charge for the Unlawful Possession of a Handgun admitted into the Pretrial Intervention Program. The Pretrial Intervention Program is a diversionary program that allows first time non-violent offenders to serve a period of probation and at the successful conclusion of probation the charges will be dismissed. A 2nd Degree in the State of New Jersey carries with it the possibility of 5-10 years of imprisonment and a presumption of imprisonment. Cliff was successful in having the Presiding Judge for the County grant a “Grave’s Act” Waiver, which requires a mandatory minimum periods of parole ineligibility for persons convicted of Unlawful Possession of a Weapon. By securing his client’s admission in the Pretrial Intervention Program the client will serve probation for 1 year and at the conclusion of the probationary period the charges against him will be dismissed.
Even if a person is licensed in another state to carry a firearm the State of New Jersey has strict gun control laws, which could result in criminal charges if carrying that State. Gun laws for each state vary and before an individual crosses State lines a licensed to carry individual should seek a legal opinion regarding the legality of that travel with a weapon.
In the event you have been charged with a crime contact the law firm Bidlingmaier & Bidlingmaier for your free consultation.